“The Fourth Noble Truth” takes place within a Buddhist milieu. So we thought a brief explanation of Buddhism might be helpful.

The Buddha did not set out to establish a religion. His goal was simply to show people how to be happy. His method for this was to teach the Four Noble Truths.

The First Noble Truth

is that life is full of psychic suffering, such as stress, angst, discontent, and unhappiness.

The Second Noble Truth

is that the cause of this suffering is desire. Not the fleeting kind, but a clinging or attachment for things like material possessions, people, and validation.

The Third Noble Truth

is that if you end these fixations, you will stop suffering.

The Fourth Noble Truth

is that you end suffering by walking the Eightfold Path, which is a way of life embodying these virtues:

  • Right Understanding
  • Right Intention
  • Right Speech
  • Right Action
  • Right Livelihood
  • Right Effort
  • Right Mindfulness
  • Right Concentration

The Buddha taught that developing the virtues of
the Fourth Noble Truth is the key to happiness.